The Board of Trustees consists of 12 local residents who are elected to three-year terms of office.  Each year, four Trustees are elected to the Board.  Working closely with the Director of the Library, the Trustees provide oversight of the library budget, its services and policies.

Board Members

Puja P. Mehta, Chair (term expires in 2019)

  • Carol Axelrod (2018)
  • Michael A. Burstein (2019)
  • Vivien E. Goldman (2018)
  • Regina Healy (2018)
  • Gary Jones (2017)
  • Karen Livingston (2017)
  • Carol Troyen Lohe, Treasurer (2018)
  • Jonathan J. Margolis (2017)
  • Magdalene M. Moran, Vice Chair (2017)
  • Jennifer Rees (2019)
  • Judith Vanderkay, Secretary (2019)
  •  Sara F. Slymon, Library Director


Email the Trustees


Meetings take place every second Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. They are held in the Trustees’ Room of the library at 361 Washington Street unless otherwise noted.

Minutes of Meetings of the Board of Trustees

Trustees By-Laws

Read By-Laws