All Brookline Library locations will be closed Wednesday, June 19 for Juneteenth.

Please note: The Brookline Village Library will be closed on Sundays from June 16 to September 1.



The Board of Trustees consists of 12 local residents who are elected to three-year terms of office. Each year, four Trustees are elected to the Board. Working closely with the Director of the Library, the Trustees provide oversight of the library budget, its services, and its policies.

Meetings take place every second Tuesday of the month at 6:15 p.m. They are held in the Trustees’ Room of the library at 361 Washington Street unless otherwise noted.

Board Members

Kristin Hung, Chair (term expires in 2025)

  • Michael Burstein (2025)
  • Chris Chanyasulkit (2026)
  • Rick Fredkin (2025)
  • Judith Goleman, Secretary (2025)
  • Karen Livingston, Vice Chair (2026)
  • Carol Troyen Lohe, Treasurer (2025)
  • Jonathan J. Margolis (2026)
  • Koinonia Martin-Page (2025)
  • Judith Vanderkay (2025)
  • Marissa Vogt (2026)
  • Sassan Zelkha (2025)
  • Amanda Hirst, Library Director


Email the Chair of the Trustees Read By-Laws

Library Strategic & Action Plans

The Public Library of Brookline’s Strategic Plan for FY18-22, as well as the FY19 Action Plan, was approved by the Trustees and accepted by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners in February 2017. The Action Plan outlines the Library’s major projects, goals, and activities for the upcoming year.

Public Library of Brookline Reopening Plan 2020 (COVID-19)

The Public Library of Brookline Reopening Plan was approved by the Trustees in June 2020.

Meeting Minutes

The Library’s fiscal year runs from July 1 to June 30.

FY 2024

FY 2023

FY 2022


FY 2021


FY 2020


FY 2019


FY 2018


FY 2017


FY 2016


FY 2015


FY 2014


FY 2013